Lure fishing for Zander

The Flying Tench

In a recent thread on what to fish for on a bright day in October, someone suggested lure fishing for perch, pike, zander and chub. Interesting. I knew that, as it gets colder, cold high pressure days can be good for lure fishing for pike, and 2 of my best lure fishing sessions for perch were towards dusk on bright days towards the end of October.

But I have no experience with zander, and would like to catch one on lure. But I'm aware that, with dead fish baits, dusk or even night are the best times. So I'd be interested to hear how this works out with zander, particularly in canals. Can anyone advise

- how much do weather conditions matter?

- are some times of year better than others?

Thanks

john clarke

I've never caught a Zander either mate, but to give yourself the best chance, I'd research which canals actually contain a decent head of these!!

Having watched a lot of T.V. prog's on the subject - they are the proverbial vampires of the piscatorial world - but can be caught during daylight hours.

Soft rubber Lures - fished on a slow retrieve seems to be the way forward & very much a roving game rather than sticking to one peg.

I'm sure someone with much more expertise will come in on this.

Or - maybe they won't?? some venues/methods are jealously guarded - & why not!! It's difficult to give away a good spot, then find someone else fishing it.

Good Luck.

Edited by Martin56

Fishin' - "Best Fun Ya' can 'ave wi' Ya' Clothes On"!!

My total zander experience is one fish but after many unsuccessful sessions fishing jigs and missing bumps/tail grabs, success came in the middle of the day fishing cheep Chinese deep diving plugs. I knew that the switch from jigs to plugs would result in lost gear but at 80p a go, I didn't mind - and I only ended up loosing one all day.

Species caught in 2020: Barbel. European Eel. Bleak. Perch. Pike.