E.A. Powers Of Access?

Elton

Posted on behalf of Tim. Please add all replies to this thread:

As a complete novice, can you guys help me with the following query?

Last December I went fishing, for the first time in my life, with my partner's 18 year old son. It was an attempt to befriend him, as I'd recently moved in with her. He is a keen fisherman, but had not been since the age of 12, when his father last took him. He suggested a private fishery, on the outskirts of London, to which his father used to take him.

I asked him "Do we need a licence", and he told me "No, it's private". He'd been told this by his father, while still a child. While we were there, an Environment Agency (EA) bailiff turned up and we were charged, to my horror with not having a licence, even though it is a private location that you have to pay to use!

Putting aside my feelings about being effectively taxed (do the EA give any service to people at private fisheries?) to take part in a recreation on private property, do any of you know the law on the powers of the EA? The reason I ask this is that while we were being charged by the bailiff, the site owner came up and had a huge argument with him, because he'd come onto the site without prior notice or permission from the owner. I wander if it is legal for a bailiff to come onto private land to do this without permission? After all, even the police have to get a search warrant for a private property. How can a bailiff be empowered to act with authority that even the police don't have, and go onto private property without the permission? Does anyone have any information on the law about this? Or know of any source of information?