Beach Casting - Reel up or down?

fishfinder

I've been fishing now for about 40 years and I've always used my reel in the "up" position. I've never really like the look of casting with the reel low down but now I'm wondering if I'm being too narrow minded! In particular I didn't like the idea of having to control the reel with my left hand!

Can anyone tell me what (if there are any) advantages i would have by casting with my reel low down?

I've been fishing now for about 40 years and I've always used my reel in the "up" position. I've never really like the look of casting with the reel low down but now I'm wondering if I'm being too narrow minded! In particular I didn't like the idea of having to control the reel with my left hand!

Can anyone tell me what (if there are any) advantages i would have by casting with my reel low down?

In theory, with the reel lower down the handle you have a longer rod and therefore a longer 'lever' to launch your lead and bait...a correspondingly higher effort needs to be put in.

It might also be more comfortable for reeling in. I tend to stick the reel where reeling in comfort and casting effort are balanced. If I was in the situation of desperately requiring a few more yards I might stick the reel lower down the rod...then again, you may lose accuracy...not necessarily required, it depends on the area you are fishing!

Eating wild caught fish is good for my health, reduces food miles and keeps me fit trying to catch them........it's my choice to do it, not yours to stop me!

Fishfinder - did you mean reel above rod / reel below rod or the position of the reel relative to the butt of the rod?

" My choices in life were either to be a piano player in a whore house or a politician. And to tell the truth, there's hardly any difference!" - Harry Truman, 33rd US President

fishfinder,