Attention all yakkers

Snatcher

I am a non-yakker but do enjoy your yakking forum. If I were a "bit" younger could fancy doing it myself :)

This thought/thread is about all your safety. Have noticed that newbies seem to just buy a yak and paddle into the sunset with no idea about personal safety!

How about the more experienced yakkers posting up a set of safety/guidance rules for new starters to your game.

I am sure Elton could arrange for it to be at the top of the page all the time.

Just a thought team :)

Fishing digs on the Mull of Galloway - recommend

HERE

babyforavatar.jpg

Me when I had hair

Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Dunno about others Snatcher, but I'm a newbie when it comes to yakkin, but I've been going to sea for as long as I can remember(except for when I discovered wine , women and song), I have a very good knowledge of the tides were I intend to fish, and know when to blow it , if the wind does . I have worked in the diving industry, been involved in search & rescue, recovery, and training. I can assure anybody that I have a 100% respect for the sea (or any body of water ) Today is my maiden paddle , I could have gone to my local beach, but I've choosen the lake , at lakeside shopping centre, cos there 's no tide , as this weekend its big fat springs and as I look out of my window a mist has rolled in. Today I'm going to practice paddle technique, getting in and out of it, capsizing and rewriting it, plus any thing else I can think of. There are always gonna be people who litrally do as you say Snatcher, and paddle of without a care in the world, but these sort of people probably don't look in on websites like this one, also the newbies who have posted on here like myself , have in my opinion been given sound advice, from people who have a genuine passion and respect for the sea and all she offers. We newbies have also been invited to paddle with