How to determine the weight of a fly rod ?

Andy_1984

Had this fly rod for years and it has no markings on it except the name "Orvis Graphite" which has almost completely faded.

There isn't anything else to tell me which weight it is so I thought there must be a way to test it and find out.

I got hold of Orvis and they tried to help but came to the conclusion it's not one they built, but it is one of their blanks.

So I found this site: http://suite101.com/article/how-to-determine-the-weight-of-a-fly-rod-a198459

Does this sound about right ?

Owner of Tacklesack.co.uk

Moderator at The-Pikers-Pit.co.uk

Difficult to say if it's 'about right', without knowing the logic behind his calculations.

I'm NOT an expert fly-fisherman - I do little more than play at it, but I'm well aware that the line ratings given to many fly rods is quite arbitrary, and indicates what SHOULD be the best weights of lines to use with that rod under normal circumstances.

BUT - watch two different anglers using the same type of rod; one with talent on a river, and another on a stocked trout reservoir who looks more like he's trying to throw a war-hammer ... what you get from the rod, and which line is most likely BEST is very likely influenced to a large degree by the angler in question and the technique in use.

The calculations that the guy in your link offers are simple enough to follow, and may well give a general indication of the correct weight of line to use; indeed his method could be stunningly accurate. Personally, I'd be tempted to put the rod into the hands of someone I knew with a talent for casting a fly (plenty of 'em up in Scotland, allegedly? :-) ), and ask them to attach a reel / cast a line - they'll very quickly be able to tell you if a line is too light / heavy to be loading the rod properly.

If all else fails, take a couple of inches off the tip and re-attach a tip-ring - 're-educated' fly rods can make crackin' spinning rods! :-)

Edited by philocalist