Groundbait for sea fish

The Flying Tench

I have just got back from 3 days estuary fishing in Swansea - see blog. I'm a complete novice at salt water fishing, but it feels so strange casting a bait out with no groundbait. Do you feel the same? I did try bread crumb in the feeder for mullet, but I didn't get the impression they were too interested.

But on reflection, what about fishmeal based groundbait? You'd think this might work as it's made from sea fish as I understand it. Have you ever heard of this being used?

john clarke

I used to use maggots to catch wrass and threw then in same as when coarse fishing. In the circumstances it did work and me and my brother caught loads.

Other than that I think I would forget it, unless your gonna chum for sharks 😉👍

On 9/18/2021 at 4:34 PM, The Flying Tench said:

I did try bread crumb in the feeder for mullet, but I didn't get the impression they were too interested.

But on reflection, what about fishmeal based groundbait? You'd think this might work as it's made from sea fish as I understand it. Have you ever heard of this being used?

Taking the second point first - why not use the real thing. Freshly caught and chopped raw fish, attracts almost everything from pout whiting to porbeagle shark.

Prior to a trip to the Dingle Peninsuilar, Pete phoned the day before for a final check.   He mentioned he was bringing a mincer  to clamp on the boat's gunwhale to process any spare fish .   Thinking of domestic mincers, I wondered if it would be big enough.   There was a derisive snort at the other end. " BIG enough ? That's a commercial mincer. That weighs twenty-eight pounds. That would mince a bloody crocodile ! "